by Leora Acoca Goldberg יוני 20, 2020

Many people are Gluten sensitive and are omitting the obvious foods known to contain gluten such as bread, pasta, baked products, however, what they are not aware of is the fact that gluten is present in much of the processed food hidden from our sight. 

I recently had a lovely lady who was on a gluten-free diet however she was not getting better despite dropping the bread, pasta, and even beer. After filling in my nutritional weekly profilefor 7 consecutive days we were able to see that she was in fact consuming an ample amount of gluten without her awareness!. This is when I decided that it is time to make a post revealing the hidden sources of gluten so that you can easily avoid eating them. According to the Celiac disease foundation's website, these following foods contain gluten: 


Gluten-Containing Grains and Their Derivative

  •  durum
  • emmer
  • semolina
  • spelt
  • farina
  • farro
  • graham
  • KAMUT® khorasan wheat
  • einkorn wheat
  • Rye
  • Barley

  • Triticale

  • Malt in various forms including malted barley flour, malted milk or milkshakes, malt extract, malt syrup, malt flavoring, malt vinegar

  • Brewer’s Yeast

    Common Foods That Contain Gluten

      • Pasta:
      • ravioli, dumplings, couscous, and gnocchi
      • Noodles:
      • ramen, udon, soba (those made with only a percentage of buckwheat flour) chow mein, and egg noodles. (Note: rice noodles and mung bean noodles are gluten-free)
      • Bread and Pastries:
      • croissants, pita, naan, bagels, flatbreads, cornbread, potato bread, muffins, donuts, rolls
      • Crackers:
      • pretzels, goldfish, graham crackers
      • Baked Goods:
      • cakes, cookies, pie crusts, brownies
      • Cereal & Granola:
      • corn flakes and rice puffs often contain malt extract/flavoring, granola often made with regular oats, not gluten-free oats
      • Breakfast Foods:
      • pancakes, waffles, french toast, crepes, and biscuits.
      • Breading & Coating Mixes:
      • panko breadcrumbs
      • Croutons:
      • stuffings, dressings
      • Sauces & Gravies (many use wheat flour as a thickener)
      traditional soy sauce, cream sauces made with a roux
      • Flour tortillas
      • Beer (unless explicitly gluten-free) and any malt beverages (see “Distilled Beverages and kinds of vinegar” below for more information on alcoholic beverages)
      • Brewer’s Yeast
      • Anything else that uses “wheat flour” as an ingredient
      • Foods That May Contain Gluten
      • These foods must be verified by reading the label or checking with the manufacturer/kitchen staff.
      • Energy bars/granola bars – some bars may contain wheat as an ingredient, and most use oats that are not gluten-free
      • French fries – be careful of batter containing wheat flour or cross-contact from fryers
      • Potato chips – some potato chip seasonings may contain malt vinegar or wheat starch
      • Processed lunch meats
      • Candy and candy bars
      • Soup – pay special attention to cream-based soups, which have flour as a thickener. Many soups also contain barley
      • Multi-grain or “artisan” tortilla chips or tortillas that are not entirely corn-based may contain a wheat-based ingredient
      • Salad dressings and marinades – may contain malt vinegar, soy sauce, flour
      • Starch or dextrin if found on a meat or poultry product could be from any grain, including wheat
      • Brown rice syrup – may be made with barley enzymes
      • Meat substitutes made with seitan (wheat gluten) such as vegetarian burgers, vegetarian sausage, imitation bacon, imitation seafood (Note: tofu is gluten-free, but be cautious of soy sauce marinades and cross-contact when eating out, especially when the tofu is fried)
      • Soy sauce (though tamari made without wheat is gluten-free)
      • Self-basting poultry
      • Pre-seasoned meats
      • Cheesecake filling – some recipes include wheat flour
      • Eggs served at restaurants – some restaurants put pancake batter in their scrambled eggs and omelets, but on their own, eggs are naturally gluten-free

      Distilled Beverages And kinds of vinegar

      According to the Celiac foundation's website, most distilled alcoholic beverages and vinegar are gluten-free.  Research indicates that the gluten peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process, leaving the resulting liquid gluten-free.  Beers, ales, lagers, malt beverages and malt vinegar that are made from gluten-containing grains are not distilled and therefore are not gluten-free. There are several brands of gluten-free beers available in the United States and abroad.

      Other Items That Must Be Verified By Reading The Label Or Checking With The Manufacturer

      Herbal or nutritional supplements
      Drugs and over-the-counter medications 
      Vitamins and supplements 

        Plant-based foods

        Whole food and plant-based food diet are both a great diet that keeps you away from trouble (processed foods). But it is not everyone's choice. If you are a meat-eater than it is best to choose unprocessed foods for example a steak over salami or a fish over smoked salmon etc .. I also highly recommend staying away from packed foods -you never know what is in there. Learn how to make your own bread or buy it in a trusted bakery so that you have control over the ingredients you are putting in your body. 


        As always best of luck 








        Leora Acoca Goldberg
        Leora Acoca Goldberg

        Former miss Israel and runner up of Miss Asia Pacific in the 80s . TV reality Survivor - second runner up 2010 I love wellness, Aesthetics and fashion - here to spread all the good stuff and Vibes

        Leave a comment

        Comments will be approved before showing up.

        Also in Natural Whole Food Recipes

        How to make a Gluten free Almond Pita bread
        How to make a Gluten free Almond Pita bread

        by Leora Acoca Goldberg ספטמבר 20, 2020

        Read More
        AVOCADO SMOOTHIE WITH GSE EXTRACT -this shake is sugar-free and dairy free. it is rich in anti oxidants, fibers and good fats. Daily intake will improve skin texture and speed up your weight loss.
        Avocado smoothie with GSE extract (heal your gut)

        by Leora Acoca Goldberg ספטמבר 16, 2020

        Vegan green Avocado smoothie sugar-free GSE extract
        Read More
        detox cleansing diet -greens
        7 days Gut Healing Detoxification

        by Leora Acoca Goldberg יולי 14, 2020

        Read More

        Get the 10 Optimalbody guidelines to implement it today